Must be 21 years of age at the time of graduation. There is no upper age limit.
Possess a High School Diploma or GED.
Attend our Academy and receive 30 hours from an accredited college. Officers then have two years after the date of graduation to attend college part-time to meet the total requirement of 60 college hours required by law.
Or possess 30 college hours in any subject and attend our Academy.
Or possess 60 college hours in any subject. (Must have an official sealed transcript.)
Or have at least two years of service in the United States Military with a valid DD-214 that is not dishonorable.
Must be a United States citizen.
Must be in excellent physical health with no conditions which would restrict ability to effectively perform the duties of a State Police Officer.
20/30 corrected vision or 20/100 uncorrected vision, normal depth perception, and satisfactory color vision.
Must have no felony convictions, history of criminal activity, improper conduct, or poor driving record which may affect suitability for law enforcement work.
Obtain a valid New Mexico driver’s license prior to being commissioned as a New Mexico State Police Officer.
Must be willing to accept assignment anywhere in the state of New Mexico.